DE SOTO AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT

SCHOOL DISTRICT LEGAL STATUS

The United States Constitution leaves to the individual states the responsibility for public education. The Wisconsin Constitution provides for the establishment of public school districts and sets up the basis for school district organization. Thus, the De Soto Area School District derives its legal status from the Wisconsin Constitution.

The District is classified as a common school district and shall be known as the De Soto Area School District.

The District consists of the following municipalities, all in the State of Wisconsin:

- · Village of De Soto in Vernon and Crawford Counties;
- Village of Ferryville and Town of Freeman in Crawford County; and
- · Villages of Genoa and Stoddard and Towns of Bergen, Genoa, Harmony, Sterling and Wheatland in Vernon County.

LEGAL E	REF.:	Sections 1	115.01(3),	(5)	Wiscons	sin	Statutes	3
		Wisconsin	Constituti	on -	Article	Х,	Section	3

APPROVED:	December	13,	2004	ADMINISTRATOR: